In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Comics - "The Punisher"

seanmc42seanmc42 Member Posts: 194 ✭✭✭
edited August 2005 in General Discussion
Hey - I know this is a somewhat older crowd, but anyone follow this comic hero?
He's a vigalante with a BIG arsenal. I'm just starting out, so I'm
looking for recommendations on issues to look out for....
Thanks, gents (and ladies).

Comments

• Options
    nemesisenforcernemesisenforcer Member Posts: 10,513 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    I haven't followed it for years, but look for the issues from the mid to late '80s when the writing and art team were on a serious Dirty Harry kick. His combat annuals are pretty good.

"Just because you're paranoid doesn't mean they're not out to get you."
  • Options
    ElMuertoMonkeyElMuertoMonkey Member Posts: 12,898
    edited November -1
    Sean,

Check out any of the items that Garth Ennis wrote.

The Punisher has had three series in recent years, all by Ennis - a limited series, a "normal" Marvel series, and a Marvel MAX series (basically Marvel comics, but with swearing and nudity).

If you're into back issues, the early Punisher War Journal by Carl Potts and Jim Lee were pretty decent (a little hokey at times, though) and the early Punisher War Zone items by Chuck Austen and John Romita Jr. were pretty good (LOTS of action, guns, and stuff blowing up).

The current Punisher series typically runs in six-issue story arcs. "In the Beginning", the first six issues of the Punisher MAX series is really good and is out in trade paperback now. That is the one I recommend most of all.

Hope this helped.
  • Options
    diznuffdiznuff Member Posts: 341 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    There are a few issues out there with the punnisher and ghost rider as a tag team duo of sorts. I remember reading them as a kid. good issues.