In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

Pension rip off!!

SpartacusSpartacus Member Posts: 14,415
edited May 2009 in General Discussion
just going thru the mail and there's a letter from retirement account.
I've been contributing the max allowed for last 4 years.
at 5 yrs you are vested and get matching contributions.
this letter says that because I'm leaving the fund (employer) before being vested that I loose all the $$ I've put in!!
supposedly, i was told this when i started with them.
Is this legal? we're talking around $50K!
I'll be paying out more money to the lawyer tomorrow.
I'm mad enough to hurt somebody right now!
never heard of anything like this.

Comments

• moonshinemoonshine Member Posts: 8,471
    edited November -1
    no they can't take you money. they may be able to keep any of there money.
  • Tailgunner1954Tailgunner1954 Member Posts: 7,734 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    Read it again, you should be keeping the money that YOU put in, BUT you WON'T get the matching funds your employer put in
  • COLTCOLT Member Posts: 12,637 ******
    edited November -1
    ...Chill and re-read the statement. I imagine that the "money they keep", is any matching funds they have contributed...not your contributed money though there will be tax issues with that money...[;)]

ani-texas-flag.gif
  • Marc1301Marc1301 Member Posts: 31,895 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Tom,.......they can't take what you contributed. ( At least not yet.)

The rest I don't know about.
    Read it again, calmly.
    "Beam me up Scotty, there's no intelligent life down here." - William Shatner
  • A J ChristA J Christ Member Posts: 7,534
    edited November -1
    Whoa!

They can't keep your money, the funds you've contributed.

They can however keep the matching funds.