In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Guns and "mental illness"

ClarentaviousClarentavious Member Posts: 800 ✭✭✭✭
edited May 2007 in General Discussion
Since I have some personal knowledge of this, I can tell you guys this situation is heading south very fast.

My mother's sister had a different biological father than my mother did... and I'll admit my half aunt was never quite right in the head. Perhaps she passed on some her genes to her daughter... my cousin who know lives in South Dakota.

Point being, she took her daughter to some shrinks when she was like 5 years old, because she didn't like some of the things she saw. That little decision and mistake on my aunt's part, took away many opportunities in my cousin's life... and we're not talking about guns here since she never went to a mental hospital.

If congress passes a law that people with so called "mental illness" can't own guns, you know what's gonna happen? When one of your co-workers who is a member of the brady campaign, sees you crying because your spouse died last week, they are gonna run to your boss, tell them you have severe depression, are suicidal, and that the cops and shrinks need to be called to confiscate your guns and drag you off...

If Regan wasn't a former president and still alive, they'd chase after his guns for having Alzheimer's. Same thing with Charlton Heston.

I think the shrinks that abused my cousin are a bunch of quacks. At most she is a little eccentric... but I would not go so far as to call her mentally ill. These psychologist go to school for 8 years to learn things based on the teachings of sigmund frued - the same nut job that thinks it is perfectly normal and healthy for 4 year old girls to want to have sex with their biological fathers...