In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

earned income credit?? what is that?

KSUmarksmanKSUmarksman Member Posts: 10,705 ✭✭✭
edited May 2009 in General Discussion
got a letter from thieves-R-us...I mean IRS saying I am eligible for something called earned income credit and I have not applied for it...
so they want me to answer 4 questions and send the form back.

what is it?
I am assuming it has something to do with the fact that as a student, my income was pitiful and I was mainly living off student loans.

I was kinda hoping they would just send me the refund I am supposed to get and settled at that...

Comments

• grumpygygrumpygy Member Posts: 48,464 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    From IRS its self.

quote:Q1. What is the Earned Income Tax Credit (EITC)?

A1. The earned income credit (EITC) is a tax credit for certain people who work and have low wages. A tax credit usually means more money in your pocket. It reduces the amount of tax you owe. The EITC may also give you a refund.
  • slipgateslipgate Member Posts: 12,741
    edited November -1
    A tex "credit" is money that you get even if you paid 0 taxes. It is part of what is wrong with our tax system.
  • COLTCOLT Member Posts: 12,637 ******
    edited November -1
    quote:I am assuming it has something to do with the fact that as a student, my income was pitiful

...I think, you answered your on question...[;)]

ani-texas-flag-2.gif
  • KSUmarksmanKSUmarksman Member Posts: 10,705 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    quote:Originally posted by slipgate
    A tex "credit" is money that you get even if you paid 0 taxes. It is part of what is wrong with our tax system.

see, now I don't want it...but I'm afraid that if I don't respond I will not get the normal refund that I DO deserve...

I know! I'll buy AMMO and have a giveaway [;)]