In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Know your boilers? Cleaver or Johnson?

mogley98mogley98 Member Posts: 18,297 ✭✭✭✭
edited November 2008 in General Discussion
2083292950103563585S600x600Q85.jpg
Why don't we go to school and work on the weekends and take the week off!

Comments

• Options
    ithaca4meithaca4me Member Posts: 538 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    I like it. I am a steam engineer in Ohio. Those little fire tube boilers can run and run it has been awhile since I ran one that size. I fired pulverizecd coal in a small municipal power plant in Shelby Ohio for awhile now I run small "D" type boilers.
  • Options
    mogley98mogley98 Member Posts: 18,297 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    quote:Originally posted by ithaca4me
    I like it. I am a steam engineer in Ohio. Those little fire tube boilers can run and run it has been awhile since I ran one that size. I fired pulverizecd coal in a small municipal power plant in Shelby Ohio for awhile now I run small "D" type boilers.
    Yes we use a Johnson 150 and a Cleaver 100 for a small Hospital, everything being redundant.
    Why don't we go to school and work on the weekends and take the week off!
  • Options
    A J ChristA J Christ Member Posts: 7,534
    edited November -1
    I was about 100' from one of those when it blew up. It was running on natural gas and something about a problem about a purge cycle. About all I know about boilers is that they make hot water or steam and use natural gas, oil or coal to do it.

There was a steel roll up door right behind this boiler, had shrapnel go through the door and the other end of the boiler was laying on the floor.

Sounded like an 81 mortar round going off.
  • Options
    footlongfootlong Member Posts: 8,009
    edited November -1