In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Annealing !!

mondmond Member Posts: 6,458
edited January 2009 in Ask the Experts
One for the engineers -

Does any one go thru this process, if so what temp do you aneal to, for how long ?
I have re-loaded some brass 10x & although all looks well, should i anneal to stop the work hardening process ?

Was just going to pop the Brass into the oven to warm thru , for an hour or so.

Thanks

Comments

• Options
    11echo11echo Member Posts: 1,007 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    I'm not an engineer, but I done a bit of annealing on some rifle cases that were hardened. Check this link out it explains it pretty well. I myself used the "tip over" method. ...Good Luck!
    http://www.6mmbr.com/annealing.html
  • Options
    JustCJustC Member Posts: 16,056 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    do not run the brass in the over, or even attempt to anneal the case body EVER!!!! The oven prolly can't get hot enough, even on broil, but there is a possibility. If you anneal the body, the case may very well blow up in your face.

Only anneal the neck and shoulder. You can buy a chemical called Tempilac (sp) that you paint on the case, and it melts at the correct temp. After a while, you will be able to count off the seconds and know when it is done.
  • Options
    iceracerxiceracerx Member Posts: 8,860 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    662 degrees Fahrenheit (350 degrees C) for 15 minutes will anneal your case necks. If the cases turn a faint orange colour (aprox 950 deg F) they will be ruined.

It is vital that your cases are as clean as possible before you anneal them.