In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Alaska Rifle

osubullriderosubullrider Member Posts: 23 ✭✭
edited January 2009 in Ask the Experts
First of all, Happy New Year. I am looking to buy my brother a rifle for his birthday but I am not sure what to get him. He lives in Alaska and I have no experience with the big game up there. He is interested in hunting moose, bear, etc. I was thinking a .338 or maybe bigger? Give me some suggestions keeping in mind that I want to get him a gun that he can use in multiple situations and hunting scenerios.

Comments

• Options
    leeblackmanleeblackman Member Posts: 5,303 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    Hey sis, what you getting me for my birthday? Its in march. I live in central Texas and theres lots of potential zombies here. So you know, any type of AR would be good ;)
  • Options
    asphalt cowboyasphalt cowboy Member Posts: 8,904 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    The .338 would be a fine choice. As a personal preference, and some might argue this, I like the controlled feed of the Mauser type actions.

I won't recommend my personal favorite the 9.3x62 simply because of ammo availability, but the .375 H&H is a venerable, well respected calibre. Not sure about ammo availability in Alaska though.
  • Options
    clb024clb024 Member Posts: 36 ✭✭
    edited November -1
  • Options
    quickmajikquickmajik Member Posts: 16,324
    edited November -1