In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Wingmaster & 870 Express Stock same?

CS8161CS8161 Member Posts: 13,595 ✭✭✭
edited March 2015 in Ask the Experts
I have a 870 Wingmaster and need a replacement stock and forend. Are the stocks and forends from a 870 Express the same and will they fit my Wingmaster? Thanks for any info!

Comments

• Options
    nmyersnmyers Member Posts: 16,880 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    There have been numerous changes in specifications of Remington shotgun parts throughout production. Even parts for the exact same model may not fit.

If it were me, I would pay a professional to do the job, or make sure that I could return any parts that did not fit my shotgun.

Neal
  • Options
    charliemeyer007charliemeyer007 Member Posts: 6,579 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Google says they will interchange. Boyd's just list 870's. I like the look of the thumbhole ones for $65. http://www.boydsgunstocks.com/FindAStock?Make=3U&Model=217&Action=2J
  • Options
    tsr1965tsr1965 Member Posts: 8,682 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    I might make a suggestion, and it all depends on what you are doing with your shotgun. I have one of the very first 870 EXPRESS Turkey guns. I wanted to reduce recoil by adding a Simms(Limb Saver) pad. I also added the synthetic stock and forend. The synthetic stock, has more flex to it, and also helps reduce recoil. The Remington pads doe their synthetic stock, are the Simms pad.

But to answer your question, in my experience, the different types of stocks...walnut/beech, laminated, or synthetic, will fit, within the gauge of the gun...12/16 will fit the stocks for the 12...20 for 20, etc.
  • Options
    thorhammerthorhammer Member Posts: 957 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1