In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

What Grain Ammo for .223

jbw1776jbw1776 Member Posts: 3,056
edited July 2006 in Ask the Experts
I have a Bushmaster AR-15 with a 24" extra heavy "match" barrel. The barrel has a 1:8.5 twist rate. My question is this, what grain bullet do you feel is best suited for this barrel/twist? I know different guns like different ammo, but I'm just looking for a starting point. I'm limited to factory ammo and not really looking for the "best" ammo, just the grain. 300-500yd. target shooting is what I've been using it for. I've read what other twist rates generally like, but I'm having a hard time finding a general range for this odd twist. Any help is appreciated. Thanks

Ben

Comments

• Options
    bpostbpost Member Posts: 32,664 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    That is a fast twist for caliber barrel.

Heavier bullets will tend to shoot better. Try several types of ammo to see what your rifle likes.
  • Options
    dclocodcloco Member Posts: 2,967
    edited November -1
    69 Sierra HPBT (excellent bullet by the way, measures at near match quality dimensionally).

Or...there is 70 grain from various manufacturers.
  • Options
    edited November -1
    I appreciate the help guys. Is there a bullet I should stay away from, too heavy/light. I've been shooting the 55 grainers in it, and while the accuracy is good, I believe it could be much better. I will give the 69gr. bullets a try.

Ben
  • Options
    nononsensenononsense Member Posts: 10,928 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    jbw1776,

You shouldn't have any trouble using lighter weight bullets with your twist rate, I do it all the time with fast twist barrels. You will find that you can use bullets that are up to approximately 0.885" long and still be stable. This should also include the 68 gr. bullets.