In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

1911 Trigger Pull Problem

floorguy24floorguy24 Member Posts: 1,343 ✭✭✭✭✭
edited June 2015 in Ask the Experts
I'm building my first 1911 .45 from the frame up.

Upon completing the frame parts fitting and installation with new Wilson Combat parts, I've noticed the trigger pull seems too tight or too hard to pull as opposed to my other factory 1911.

I'm using the deluxe Wilson Combat pre-polished sear and pre-polished commander trigger combination as well as the Wilson Combat spring kit.

I'm assuming the main spring tension and/or the sear spring tension may possibly be the reason, and maybe I need to change them out to a lower tension? Or maybe I'm way off. I have no idea, since this is my first build.

Any ideas?

Thank You

Comments

• Options
    dcs shootersdcs shooters Member Posts: 10,969
    edited November -1
    How tight is the trigger in the frame [?] It might need fitting there.
  • Options
    iceracerxiceracerx Member Posts: 8,860 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    The magazine can also contact the trigger 'loop' and cause a heavy trigger pull.
  • Options
    charliemeyer007charliemeyer007 Member Posts: 6,579 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    You should be lightly stoning almost every machined edge. Drag a micro fiber cloth or a silk gloved finger on all surfaces and edges to feel for burrs. The little plastic flexible polishing stones are nice.

Check each part for fit, then check the assembly.

Be really careful not to change the working face angle on the hammer and sear. You can make a jig to hold the hammer and sear in their proper relation so you could inspect and or adjust their engagement.
  • Options
    floorguy24floorguy24 Member Posts: 1,343 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Wow, great responses!