In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Accuracy - Single Action .357 vs. Dual Action .357

idzgydzidzgydz Member Posts: 94 ✭✭
edited January 2009 in Ask the Experts
I have been looking into the purchase of my first .357, and wanted some information on the difference in accuracy (if any) between Single Action and Dual Action revolvers at distances greater than 40-50 yards. I have shot dual action .44 mag. pistols (Dan Wesson 6" bbl) out to 100 yards accurately (5" groups, rested position, iron sights), and I want to know if there if a single action .357 out there that is close to as accurate. I have limited experience with single action revolvers, but don't remember the last time I actually used the dual action feature on the large caliber revolvers that I have shot. I plan to use this gun mainly for hunting, and need something accurate, durable, can handle continuous shooting of high power .357 rounds, and is in the $500 or under price range. Any information or opinions are appreciated.

Comments

• Options
    dfletcherdfletcher Member Posts: 8,162 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    I suppose in theory, having a longer and heavier hammer fall, the SA revolver could be less accurate than the DA revolver. I don't think that difference would show on the targets of most shooters or make a difference in the field though. If you're shooting solid 5" groups at 100 yds with a DA you should have no problems equalling that with a quality SA revolver.

The $500.00 limit is a bit tight for new, but you should be able to get a used Ruger Blackhawk for well that amount. Ruger also makes a SA Hunter with a Bisley grip, but that may be a 41/44 Mag offering only though, I don't recall. They're about $650.00 new, not sure on the used market. I have the 41 Magnum Hunter, it's scoped and does very well up to 100 yds.