In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Arisaka Type 99 Long Rifle I.D. and info needed

antne56antne56 Member Posts: 36 ✭✭
edited April 2017 in Ask the Experts
Hi All,
I am new to the Military collecting game,Have been collecting mostly lever action rifles for many years.
I recently got the WW2 bug.

I have purchased a nice starter K98 and am now looking to add an Arisaka to my collection.
There is one fairly local to me that i am interested in and would like your input as far as Series,
completeness and possible ballpark on value. I dont want to lowball the seller , and i dont want to pay more then its worth.

From what i know it has a chrome bore, It has no aircraft wings,no monpod and no dust cover?
Not sure if these should parts be on this rifle or not?

The Mum is there, but seem to have file marks, possibly failed attempt to remove it?
I could not attach pictures for some reason, link to rifle.
http://www.k98kforum.com/showthread.php?26780-Arisaka-Type-99-Long-Rifle-I-D-and-info-needed
Thanks in advance to all.
Tony

Comments

• Options
    edited November -1
    Henry,
    thanks I will try and setup the photo sharing accounts.
    Tony
  • Options
    p3skykingp3skyking Member Posts: 25,750
    edited November -1
    Only two versions of the 99 Long.
    Toyo Kogyo production 35th Series.
    Toriimatsu production No series.

Both should have anti-aircraft sights, monopod, and dustcover.

Not a commom gun, but not outrageously so. The anti-aircraft sights are different from the short 99, so the chances of you finding a set are about nil.

Value? I bought them before round eyes even knew what they were and no one could read the Kanji. I don't know what a fair price would be for the one you're looking at. Ask for his best price and you decide.
  • Options