In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Reloading the .450 Bushmaster

AmbroseAmbrose Member Posts: 3,164 ✭✭✭✭
edited July 2017 in Ask the Experts
I just started playing with a Ruger American with a 22" barrel. So far, I've tried only Lil' Gun and Win. 296 powder and am getting good groups when I can keep the extreme spreads down. But I noticed even factory ammo has 100+ extreme spreads. One of my 5-shot groups had an extreme spread of 268! Needless to say, that group had a lot of vertical stringing. Maybe it's the small rifle primer?

I'm not finding a lot of reloading data for this cartridge, yet. My Hornady manual has it but that's about it. I wonder if 2400 or Accurate #9 would be good powders for this cartridge. Anyone have experience with this one?

Comments

• Options
    62fuelie62fuelie Member Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    You might try the various powder company's web sites. They have loads for some fairly rare rounds. Sierra's phone line to their ballistian is good as well.
  • Options
    rufe-snowrufe-snow Member Posts: 18,650 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Loaded for a lot of the old 19th Century, BP cartridges years ago. When I wasn't using either a full case of BP. Or a duplex load with 10% of 4756.

Found that a large capacity case. With smokeless that didn't fill the case wasn't accurate. Either find a powder that safely fills the case to the base of the bullet. Or use light loads fast burning pistol powder. With a filler,(corn meal/dacron), between the base of the bullet and the powder.
  • Options
    charliemeyer007charliemeyer007 Member Posts: 6,579 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Interesting cartridge. It reminds me of a beltless 450 marlin short. IMR 4198, RX7 and perhaps down to IMR 3031.

http://www.realguns.com/articles/882.htm