In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Early deer hunting strategy

RedlegRedleg Member Posts: 417 ✭✭✭
edited September 2001 in Ask the Experts
All:Have a question about early deer hunting strategies. What are some good tips? Please, fill my head with knowledge! Thanks!(I live in Missouri)
Crush your enemies, drive their horses before you, hear the lamentation of their women.--Genghis Khan

Comments

• Options
    ndbillyndbilly Member Posts: 1,573 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    I also like - "We will slaughter your men, steal your women and dance on the bones of your children." I think it was Arnold S. in one of those Conan flicks.RE: Early Deer Hunting Tips. I am by no means an expert, but have had some success over the past twenty years. Best advice I ever got is what I'll pass along: Scout, scout, scout. The more time you can spend in the woods you plan to hunt, the better prepared you'll be. I would suggest, if your schedule allows, going early in the morning and/or late in the afternoon as the critters tend to be more active during tose times. If you haven't found a place to hunt yet, you should get on that ASAP. Archery starts very soon and the gun season will be here before you know it. Good luck!
  • Options
    DaRoostaDaRoosta Member Posts: 270 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Make sure you know your weapon. You may only get one chance, so make it count. Even if you know your gun or bow is sighted in, make sure. Go to the range and check it out. I'm a firm believer that practice is key.Other than that, make sure you have fun and be safe. I'm sure you'll have lots of responses on this topic, so I just thought I'd add my #1 objective. Good luck.
  • Options
    ndbillyndbilly Member Posts: 1,573 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1