In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

Tower Pistol Identification

AtlPupLvrAtlPupLvr Member Posts: 3 ✭✭
edited October 2009 in Ask the Experts
Hello,
I'm new to the forum and have come across a few handguns in helping to sort through a family home. I'm not a gun expert, though learning as a result of this. One handgun in particular appears to be an antique tower pistol. I don't yet have photos posted. What should I be looking for in markings or other qualities to understand whether it is authentic, and if so, the age? In working with my father to understand the item, here is what I know at this point:
Appears to be 80 caliber
It's a Flint Lock to Percussion conversion
It's engraved with something that looks like a name in a script. Using the "_" character for letters I can't make out "F,G,orJ_orc_cia" and underneath very difficult to read.
The end where the bullet comes out (yes laugh) is engraved with two letters. They are either greek Lambda and Rho (upside down V and a P) or they are something else entirely.
Enclosed in a rectangle, in small capital letters is an "MB" marking on the left side.
I would appreciate any advice on what else I should be looking for, and resources I could tap into to better understand this piece.
Thanks!

Comments

• rufe-snowrufe-snow Member Posts: 18,650 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    It would be best if you could post quality photos of the pistol. Here is a link to instructions for posting photos in the forum.

http://forums.gunbroker.com/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=259294
  • AtlPupLvrAtlPupLvr Member Posts: 3 ✭✭
    edited November -1
  • rufe-snowrufe-snow Member Posts: 18,650 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1