In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Colt SAA "Cowboy" loads vs. "Hot" loads ?

oldbuckaroooldbuckaroo Member Posts: 56 ✭✭
edited January 2016 in Ask the Experts
Are Colt SAAs or SAA replica revolvers from Cimmaron, Uberti, etc., chambered for .357 Magnum designed for lower powered "Cowboy" loads only, or are they capable of firing hotter .357 magnum loads like the Underwood 180 grain .357 magnum rated at 1750 fps from a 4" barrel without damaging the gun? Is a 2nd or 3rd Generation Colt SAA .357 designed for a hot load like the Underwood? I've heard that some SAA replicas designed for SASS or CAS events aren't meant for anything other than typical 850 fps "cowboy' loads. I'm new to cowboy action shooting but would like an SAA that could double as a hunting sidearm. Any advice is much appreciated.

Comments

• Options
    rufe-snowrufe-snow Member Posts: 18,650 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    IMHO, the only single action I would shoot that load in. Would be a Ruger Blackhawk, and very sparingly at that.

All the large ammo manufacturers make JHP loads for the .357. That would be much kinder, than the Underwood loads. Probably every bit as effective for hunting.
  • Options
    CapnMidnightCapnMidnight Member Posts: 8,520
    edited November -1
    I totally agree with rufe, I'd stay away from that ammo, unless shooting a Black Hawk.
    W.D.
  • Options
    Hawk CarseHawk Carse Member Posts: 4,369 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    I looked on the Underwood www and only see claims for a 180 at 1400. Still an utter maximum, likely an overload, but not the gun busting overload of trying to drive it 1700 fps in a 4".

I am still leery of these small shop super bullets.

But a name brand .357 magnum is made to shoot SAAMI/CIP magnums, not some tenderfoot "cowboy load."
  • Options