In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

sks "detachable clip"

moses25moses25 Member Posts: 47 ✭✭
edited October 2001 in Ask the Experts
i'm a novice seeking some answers....i recently purchased a russian sks and as far as i knew there was only one way to load it and one type of clip. i now hear of "detachable" mags in hi-cap that are available....does this mean that i would be able to change clips like on an AK? sorry if this is a stupid question...but i have nowhere else to ask.....

Comments

• Options
    boeboeboeboe Member Posts: 3,331
    edited November -1
    Aside from the SKS that takes AK mags, they made after market SKS detatchable magazines prior to the ban. The legality of the simple modification it takes to make the SKS accept these magazines is very questionable. There was a time it was legal to use the detatchable mags on the SKS provided the bayonet lug had been removed. I doubt it is legal to modify them in that manner now. Besides, for the most part, the detatchable after market mags are prone to jamming and very difficult to lock up. They are not nearly as easy to lock-up as the SKS that takes the AK mags. The standard box magazine on the standard SKS is much superior to the detatchable mags, IMHO. Following is a good site for information on SKS modifications that are legal, and those that are not. http://www.recguns.com/IIH2.html
  • Options
    king999king999 Member Posts: 450 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1