In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

60 grain 22LR

truthfultruthful Member Posts: 2,064 ✭✭✭✭
edited October 2009 in Ask the Experts
Does anybody have any experience with the 60 grain 22 long rifle rounds that are available? Are they quiet as claimed? Are they accurate? Do they function through an autoloader?

Comments

• Bert H.Bert H. Member Posts: 11,279 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    With a standard 1:16 twist, it is very doubtful that decent accuracy can be obtained. That said, I have no personal experience with a 60 gr. 22 LR cartridge.
  • iwannausernameiwannausername Member Posts: 7,131
    edited November -1
    It is a 22 short case loaded with a big long bullet. They are supposed to be quiet though... if you shoot a lot of 'em give your chamber a good scrubbing before firing regular 22lr ammo thru it...

Aguila also makes the colibri round, lighter bullet, full length 22lr case, also super quiet. Might want to check those out as well.
  • XXCrossXXCross Member Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    The 60 gr Aguila would not stabilize in either of my 22's.
    Quiet yes, accurate no!
  • NwcidNwcid Member Posts: 10,674
    edited November -1
    You need a 1:9 twist barrel to make the heavy 60gr bullets accurate. Standard .22 twist is 1:16.
  • beantownshootahbeantownshootah Member Posts: 12,776 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    You're talking about the Aguila SSS rounds. ("Subsonic Sniper").

The heavy bullets generally won't stabilize in ordinary .22 rifle barrels leading to bullet tumbling and poor accuracy. You need a fast-twist barrel if you want these to shoot properly.

Supposedly these work well in AR-15 .22 conversions because most commercial AR-15 barrels have 1:9 (or 1:7, etc) twists.

Drop-in 1:9 twist barrels for the Ruger 10-22 are readily available if you want to go that route.