In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

What butt plate for 94 winchester

diamondpetediamondpete Member Posts: 71 ✭✭
edited November 2009 in Ask the Experts
I have reviewed the serial number ranges for the Winchester Bert has posted. My question has to do with what type butt plate that would be on a 94 SN1355588?? I was told and the green stripe book of manufacture dates puts it as mfg around 1943. The 94 in question came with a red head rubber pad and I want to replace it with the correct type for that time period. I also have a 94 SN1890932 that the green stripe book list as mfged around 1951. Would that butt plate be the correct one for the 1943 model?? Thanks.

Comments

• MichibayMichibay Member Posts: 816 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    I am not an Expert on this one...however...it would be my guess that if it says Winchester on the tang...it probably had the older butt plate with the horizontal lines. If the tang is plain, I would guess the newer plate with the full-checkered design would be appropriate. I have both and just checked if there was a difference in the size that might tell the story...but they appear to be the same size. I don't ever recall seeing a plain tang Model 94 with the old design.
  • diamondpetediamondpete Member Posts: 71 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    Thanks, it has the plain tang, so the checkered butt plate on the 51 should work.
  • truthfultruthful Member Posts: 2,064 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    At about SN 1,090,000 Winchester standardized on the flat, checkered, steel butt plate for M94 carbines. That style remained standard until the 1964 fiasco. For a short while, from about SN 1,050,000 to the above number, the standard butt plate was steel with serrations in the central portion between the screw holes.
  • Bert H.Bert H. Member Posts: 11,279 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1