In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Reloading 300 WinMag

spclarkspclark Member Posts: 408
edited November 2001 in Ask the Experts
I'm new to reloading bottleneck cartridges; can someone reassure me that it's o.k. to use a regular full resize + decap die on once-fired brass for decapping only, as long as I back it off from the typical depth for regular resizing operations? I only have one bolt-action in 300 WinMag & want to neck size only the once-fired brass I have now, in a separate neck-size-only operation before reloading.

Comments

• Options
    JustCJustC Member Posts: 16,056 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    I would check with someone more learned than I. I beleive that this can be done for a number of times but the full length must be done every so many times. Also you will need to keep a very close eye on case length this way.
  • Options
    rg666rg666 Member Posts: 395 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Its ok to do this "only" if you are using the reloads in the same gun as you state you will be doing. As a matter of fact it should prolong the life of the brass to only neck size. I have done it that way for many years. Do a full resize after 2 neck only reloads to keep the case size consistent. Be sure to check the overall case length with a caliper & keep it under 2.620 and you should be fine. Good luck & be safe. RG[This message has been edited by rg666 (edited 11-16-2001).]
  • Options
    edited November -1
    Thanks rg666, that's what I'd hoped! Thanks for the "every third resize" tip as well; that's what makes this list really worthwhile! New Federal cases measured 2.610" + out of the box; I'll keep tabs on case length as I run these first 100 thru their next reload cycles.
  • Options
    JIM STARKJIM STARK Member Posts: 1,150 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1