In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

ruger 10/22 questions

supergirlsupergirl Member Posts: 3 ✭✭
edited November 2001 in Ask the Experts
I'm not gonna hide it: I'm a beginner, so is my dad. Hey, gotta start somewhere! I'm just warning everyone so they don't laugh when I say something off or in ignorance, k?I have a few questions. My first gun I just got a Ruger 10/22 not more than a few weeks ago. The first few shots were great. Next one jammed, took it out, next one jammed, next few fine, etc. I took it back to the guy, he oiled it and gave me a new clip; also said sometimes the factory over oils it for long shelf-life and that gun was right from the factory, no shelf life. Also gave some higher power ammo and said to use it to "break in" the clip. Now, I havn't used the more powerful cartridges he gave me yet, I fired it to see what it would do. First few shots were fine,but started jamming again. Anybody got any ideas before I call the guy up again? Also, another stupid question that needs an answer--I know you're not supposed to "ride" the bolt handle, but what happens if you do? My dad did it a few times, but isn't convinced it harms the gun. k, thanks for any input

Comments

• Options
    OrphanedcowboyOrphanedcowboy Member Posts: 351 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Was the ammo new, if so what brand? I find it hard to believe right out of the box this thing would jam like that. Give the gun a good cleaning, it may be just the opposite of what you were told, it could have to much lubricant/grease causing the gun to misfire/jam. Can you explain what you mean by riding the bolt?
    Orphanedcowboy@msn.com
  • Options
    competentonecompetentone Member Posts: 4,698 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1