In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Anyone has experience with AMT Hardballer Longslide Pistol?

CA BlueCA Blue Member Posts: 51 ✭✭
edited November 2001 in Ask the Experts
This pistol seems to be out of production but I found 2 online stores having it in stock and NIB. The main thing I am concerned with is that will it work out of the box without any tuning...I have no experience with 1911 type pistols. I have only owned Brownings and HKs. Thanks.

Comments

• Options
    gunnutgunnut Member Posts: 724 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    I owned one yrs ago, glad I still dont. It was a royal pain in the ars, spent alot of money having it "tuned" only to still have it stove pipe etc. Save and Buy a Kimber, or a Colt.
    ~Secret Select Society Of Suave Stylish Smoking Jackets~
  • Options
    JudgeColtJudgeColt Member Posts: 1,790 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Early AMT pistols were certainly variable in quality. Some were good, some were not. The early ones were poorly heat-treated and were often soft. As the first stainless M1911-pattern pistol, there were also galling problems, now long resolved. The pistols are now being made in Sturgis, South Dakota. The current pistols seem to be well made, and are fully guaranteed. As far the suggestion to go with another brand, I assume it is the 7-inch barrel that has attracted you to the AMT Longslide. (That is what attracted me to one almost 25 years ago.) There is no other production M1911-pattern pistol of which I am aware that has a 7-inch barrel. (There are many 6-inchers for much more money.) Therefore, you either give up the 7-inch barrel, or take a chance. I love shooting that long barrel so much that I would not be afraid to try one. Give Galena Industries a call in Sturgis and discuss your concerns with them.
  • Options