In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Browning X-Bolt and A-Bolt Differences?

DatasiphonDatasiphon Member Posts: 2 ✭✭
edited December 2016 in Ask the Experts
I am in the market to get a new 30-06.

I have been searching trying to find out the defining differences between Browning's Bolt action lines. I really can't tell what the major difference is that should shape my decision.

About me:
I am fairly new to the world of guns. I mostly shoot clays but just got my hunters class certificate so I can now hunt if I want. I always wanted a 30-06. Since I am newish to this type of thing some may recommend that I get something entry level but I like Browning and I don't like to buy crap. I can afford a nice rifle.

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Comments

• Options
    AmbroseAmbrose Member Posts: 3,164 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    I do not have a X-bolt but have several A-bolts. The ones I have are very accurate. I'm a sucker for the medallions, I think they look neat. I do not like plastic on my rifles and, I believe, the magazines on the X-bolt are plastic. Other than that, the X's I've handled in the gun shop have seemed OK. I would suggest you look over both of them in a gun shop and pick the one you like best. My vote goes to the A-bolt, but that's just me.
  • Options
    Lucky007Lucky007 Member Posts: 308 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1