In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

How many .223 and .308 rounds carried in battle?

NOTPARSNOTPARS Member Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭✭✭
edited January 2002 in Ask the Experts
I am a public high school teacher (and NRA Life Member). This questions comes up all the time concerning the Vietnam War:In battle, how many .223 rounds would a soldier be expected to carry? Of course, this could be broken down based on how many days they were expecting to be in the field and what was the expectation of resupply. Feel free to provide details according to expectation of battle, expectation of days in the field, and expectation of resupply.Next: Apparently some men carried M-14's for a period. Considering this is a large and heavier round, how many rounds would these soldiers be expected to carry in regard to the above expectations of battle, field time, and resupply. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Comments

• Options
    Shootist3006Shootist3006 Member Posts: 4,171
    edited November -1