In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

Help ID this pistol?

406STROKER406STROKER Member Posts: 51 ✭✭
edited June 2013 in Ask the Experts
Does anyone have any ideal what this is? Cant find another one like it any where. Thanks Eric.
2306.jpg
2-52.jpg
2-42.jpg
2-32.jpg
2-23.jpg

Comments

• 317wc317wc Member Posts: 924 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    I'm no expert but I'll take a stab at it. It's a pocket type pistol, perhaps 1840-1850s era, with a folding trigger. Its in better shape than most I've seen. I'd don't know about the engraving(no expert),
    but like I said, nicer than most I've seen. I would guess caliber is .22-.32 Short.

Its pretty dusty but it looks like there is still some bluing in the protected areas. If you clean it don't use anything abrasive on it and don't try to remove any brownish patina, just remove dust, oil, old grease, etc.

After you clean it, look it over very well, use a magnifying glass if you have one. If there are no markings at all, maybe it never had any in the first place, if it went from the factory straight to the engraver.

The missing hammer is a big downside, unless you knew who made it, it could be hard to find. I have no idea of a value.
  • hrfhrf Member Posts: 857 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    I see the word PATENT on left side under the engraving but the folding trigger suggests European origin.

Check rear face of cylinder for the ELG in an oval Belgian proofmark.

It's also missing the spring retainer for cylinder pin.
  • 406STROKER406STROKER Member Posts: 51 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    I have not received the pistol yet so I cant look for any other marks. Thanks Eric. When it does get here I will look close at it. I just have never seen this configuration with folding trigger. Thanks Eric.
    edited November -1