In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

UltraSport vs GTI

jdwelchjdwelch Member Posts: 3 ✭✭
edited April 2005 in Ask the Experts
Hi,

I'm just getting started with shotgun shooting. I'm looking at shooting trap and then maybe skeet. I've shot a few rounds of trap with borrowed guns and can hit about 8-10. Pretty good for me.

I've been looking for a good gun to buy for a few months. I now have the option of either a Browning UltraSport with 30" barrel or GTI with 28" barrel. Both are 12 gauge, ported and have several tubes. The GTI is about $100 less than the Ultra.

My questions are.. Will the 2" make enough difference I'll notice? Will the shorter barrel make it harder to resell in the future? Is one gun obviously better than the other?

Thanks for your opinions

Comments

• Options
    allechalleyallechalley Member Posts: 888 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    The GTI and Ultra are virtually the same gun. The GTI was no longer
    made after 1994, and the Ultra replaced it. There are some subtle
    changes, finish type, reciever finish, tapered rib on the Ultra and
    Broadway type rib on the GTI. They both weigh in about 8#. If you are just starting, I guess I'd recommend the 28", but that's me. The 30" will be a little tougher at skeet, where everything is up close and personal, but at trap (sporting clays), the longer barrels help in the follow thru on longer range targets. Barrel length is sort of like hemlines, every so often the new "magic" length is different.