In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

New gun law in New York?

wizbangerwizbanger Member Posts: 119 ✭✭
edited November 2013 in Ask the Experts
Is there a new New York gun law, the SAFE Act, that no longer allows an individual to ship a long gun to an ffl holder for transfer in that state? The firearm is an old Stevens 22-410, not an "assault weapon".

Comments

• Options
    tsr1965tsr1965 Member Posts: 8,682 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    There is the SAFE act, and all incoming firearms, muts be from an outlying FFL, to the incoming FFL, from what I do under stand. I am a NY resident, and work parttime/hobby in the firearms industry.

Best
  • Options
    competentonecompetentone Member Posts: 4,698 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    quote:Originally posted by tsr1965
    There is the SAFE act, and all incoming firearms, [must] be from an outlying FFL, to the incoming FFL, from what I do under stand. I am a NY resident, and work parttime/hobby in the firearms industry.

If correct, that is something that is going to have to undergo a legal challenge. There are Federal firearm laws and interstate commerce issues which such a New York law would potentially be at odds with.

Not that a court challenge would likely be "firearm-rights friendly," but New York is over-stepping its authority with such a law.
  • Options
    tsr1965tsr1965 Member Posts: 8,682 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    quote:Originally posted by competentone
    There is the SAFE act, and all incoming firearms, [must] be from an outlying FFL, to the incoming FFL, from what I do under stand. I am a NY resident, and work parttime/hobby in the firearms industry.