In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

M-1 Garand Problems!!

BigBarnBigBarn Member Posts: 361 ✭✭✭
edited May 2004 in Ask the Experts
Hey guys, I have a friend that has an M-1 Garand, that he just bought, and he is having problems with it cycling after the first shot. The bolt does not close completely, and you can bump it with your hand, and it closes, and will fire the next shot, where the bolt does the same thing, hang up before it closes all the way.
I have looked at it, and it is clean, no grime or gunk, and has a very light coat of lubricant on the cycling surfaces.
Being as how I am no Garand expert, and seeing as how he left it with me to try and fix, I thought I better find the expert in this field to give me some guidence with this project.
Do any of you out there have any expert knowledge in working with the Garand, and if so, what are your recomendations for correcting this problem?
As always, thanks in advance for your input, I know you will not fail me!

Regards,

BigBarn [^][:o)][:I]

"Respect the land, and it will respect you"

Comments

• Options
    duckhunterduckhunter Member Posts: 7,686 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    START WITH THE AMMO. CASE CLEAN, NO DIRT ETC. CHECK THE HEAD SPACE COULD BE TOO TIGHT.

I WOULD RATHER BE DUCK HUNTING.
  • Options
    nmyersnmyers Member Posts: 16,880 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Who made the rifle (name on the receiver)?

Is there an import marking?

Did he lube the rifle with grease?

Neal
  • Options
    edited November -1
    Neal, it has "National Ordance Co" on the receiver, and that is about all the names I could find. The boltand the area below the bolt have light amounts of grease on them, and the charging handel has the same. That is the only lube I could see.