In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

a couple shipping questions, please

jeffrosgunsjeffrosguns Member Posts: 5 ✭✭
edited May 2007 in Ask the Experts
[?]
1) can I, as a non-FFL holder ship a Thompson contender frame to a dealer, or must I have a local dealer ship it to the buyer's dealer?
2) What's with the sticker (I just noticed it, honest) that says its not for sale in the states of MD, NY & the commonwealth of MA? If I ship it to a dealer in NY, is the buyer going to not be able to buy it & then what-I had no idea that a contender could be such a bone of contention & any light y'all may be able to shed on this situation would be greatly appreciated, and the sooner, the better
Jeff

Comments

• nyforesternyforester Member Posts: 2,575 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    I am no lawyer, but it is my understanding that you can ship a firearm (no handguns) to an FFL dealer even though you do not have a dealers licence. I would get a ink signed copy of their licence before shipping.
    Abort Cuomo
  • HandgunHTR52HandgunHTR52 Member Posts: 2,735
    edited November -1
    You can ship a handgun (or handgun frame) to a FFL holder, however you must use UPS or FedEx and they require you to ship it overnight air, therefore it is very expensive. A FFL holder can ship via USPS so it usually costs less to have them ship it for you.
    As for the sticker about MD, NY and MA, the libs in those states have determined which guns are legal to own in their states! I know for sure that MD requires a spent cartridge (from that gun) to be shipped with it from the manufacturer. If the manufacturer does not supply one, then it is not legal to sell in MD.
    If I were you I would not sell to anyone in those states.
  • nmyersnmyers Member Posts: 16,875 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1