In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Good rifle for North Dakota?

ScalfScalf Member Posts: 6 ✭✭
edited December 2010 in Ask the Experts
My brother moved to North Dakota about a year ago, and is wanting to get into hunting next year. I live in North Carolina and have been hunting since I was 11. Like I said though, I live in North Carolina where shots are usually inside 100 yards and a 30-30 is about all you need.

Out in North Dakota a 350 yard shot is a "normal" shot. He was asking me what to get, and I recommended either a 270 or a 30-06. I am not an expert on ballistics and all, but I know a 270 is a pretty flat shooting rifle, and has a heavy enough bullet that it wont blow around too much from wind, unlike the .243. So what would you recommend?

Comments

• Options
    rsnyder55rsnyder55 Member Posts: 2,526 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    300 Weatherby would also be a good choice.
  • Options
    Floyd58523Floyd58523 Member Posts: 231 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    I am from West Central North Dakota. My brother and I use a 300 Win Mag. 30-06 is pretty much the same rifle and same result for other neighbors that use it. Check every pickup and you will see 30-30, .270, 25-06, 30-06, 7mm, .243. They all work. Each person will swear there caliber works better than any other.
  • Options
    skyfishskyfish Member Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Seems like a lot of people like the bigger 30 cals. For out to 400 yards or less, why. 270 WSM would work great. I prefer the 7mm, would be a nice choice. Don't count out the 257 or 243, many use very effectivly.

I like a little less recoil, those would be flat shooting, don't need to beat yourself up either.
  • Options
    GrasshopperGrasshopper Member Posts: 16,760 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    7mm rem.mag...
  • Options