In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Ithaca 1911 info needed

JiggaJigga Member Posts: 153 ✭✭✭
edited January 2011 in Ask the Experts
I picked up an Ithaca 1911 that appears to have been arsenal refinished but, the frame has different stamping on it that I have not seen before. Has this been re-framed and someone had to mark the grip accordingly or is this an amateur fake? Any help is appreciated.
Guns_12-21-10_002.jpg

Comments

• Options
    CS8161CS8161 Member Posts: 13,595 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    I'm no expert, but those stamped letters do not look right to me. Looks like an amateur restamping!
  • Options
    john wjohn w Member Posts: 4,104
    edited November -1
    FAKE-- I have never seen out of line stamping on any 1911 the government has issued
    Please show other shots of the pistol as to other markings, both sides
  • Options
    perry shooterperry shooter Member Posts: 17,390
    edited November -1
    I have learned to NEVER SAY NEVER when it comes to Military contract 1911 A1 pistols But of all the Ithaca contract pistols I have ever seen . I have Never seen any that had that crude numbers Etc . I have a National match pistol that was Military rework by Springfield Arsenal in 1964 and some of the numbers are very Shallow and 2 have been restamped. "pictures on request" but it looks no where like this pistol. I also Have a LUNCH BOX 1918 pistol that was never stamped with a serial number but with careful measurement can prove the frame is the correct width . I have letter from BATFE stating it is legal for me to own. without any serial. "pictures on request".. I would think dial indicator could be used to see if the frame is within specifications of a standard frame or if serial number had been machined off and new numbers stamped on the frame.