In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

.35 Remington vs .35 Whelen

Sig220_Ruger77Sig220_Ruger77 Member Posts: 12,748 ✭✭✭
edited October 2006 in Ask the Experts
Hey all,

I have a question pertaining the two calibers mentioned above in a Remington Model 7600. The reason I am limited to these two calibers is because this gun is for my girlfriend who has hunted all her life with pump action shotguns or rifles and insists on sticking to them. I am looking at the larger calibers because this would be a big game gun for her to use and prefer the heavier .35 caliber bullets over the .30 caliber bullets(30-06). I have no experience with either caliber, but am guessing by looking at load data and pressures, that the 35 remington is a little more forgiving recoil wise. It also is in a carbine style with the shorter 18.5" barrel and for these reasons I am leaning towards the .35 remington. What are your guys' take on the choices and recoil of these two calibers? Thanks in advance.

Comments

• Options
    tsavo303tsavo303 Member Posts: 8,903 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    what animals, ranges are you hunting?
  • Options
    RCrosbyRCrosby Member Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Jon,
    Will you be reloading, or factory ammo only? Obviously the Whelan will do everything the smaller round will do, and then some. This includes recoil which would, objectively speaking, be significantly greater with the larger round. Assuming similar stock design that should hold true. On the other hand, if a custom fit stock is an option, things could look a bit different. I have a .375 Sako that is more comfortable for me to shoot than a 700 BDL in .30-06. One fits me, the other doesn't.