In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Winchester 1885 Value?

archimedesarchimedes Member Posts: 6 ✭✭
edited April 2012 in Ask the Experts
I have an 1885 low wall 25/20 SS from 1900. I was curious as to what it's value is. It has unfortunately been restored at some time in the past and based on the Cody letter I have it should have a 28 inch barrel, but it has a 26 inch . It has a very nice bore and rifling. The blue job on the barrel was done very well, but unfortunately the receiver and butt plate were blued also and not color case hardened. I had hoped to one day have it restored properly, but wondering how the difference of the barrel length might affect the value? I am no expert, but the barrel looks original and not cut down so it could have been swapped? Is there a chance the Cody folks might have made a typo? It appears to be in perfect working order and I am planning to shot it this weekend for the first time. Just was hoping to find more info on this gun. Thanks in advance.

Comments

• Options
    GuvamintCheeseGuvamintCheese Member Posts: 38,932
    edited November -1
    Is the frame and barrel proof stamped on top? Is the barrel no. On the underside still visible? I'm sure Bert will want photos before he puts a dollar figure on it but it could be a factory refurb. As they did not re cases color frames.
  • Options
    edited November -1
    Here are some photos. After taking the forend off, the only markings on the barrel I see are a P and then a small star stamping near the receiver, you can see the P in the photo. No proof mark visible on the receiver, but it may have been blued over. Looking at the underside, it now appears that 2 inches may have been cut off the receiver end and everything shifted back. Just basing that on all off the dove tail cuts. What do you think?
    DSC03629.jpg