In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Remington 750

jptatumjptatum Member Posts: 1,911 ✭✭✭✭✭
edited April 2012 in Ask the Experts
Looking at a remington 750 in 308 caliber. Any thoughts pro or con about the gun / caliber

Comments

• Options
    edited November -1
    Does anybody have strong opinions about this rifle?
  • Options
    edited November -1
    What did Remington do when they converted from the previous semiautomatic 7400 to the 750. My gunsmith will not even work on the 7400s, I have had one since I graduated from Boot Camp, never had any problems with it. But everyone calls it Jammatic, so what did Remington change in the gas system or is it just cosmetic. I am a Remington guy, and would like to give it a chance if its a true new design.
    Thanks
  • Options
    tsr1965tsr1965 Member Posts: 8,682 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    Yep, go for the Browning BAR, or Winchester SXR instead.

Best

EDIT 1

From what I see, the 750 is a redesign/rehash of the 740/742/7400 series. they are all very finickey, and need to be surgically clean, and are NOT a high volume semi like the AR's, or M1A's. They are a 1000-1500 round rifle at best.

EDIT 2

Mobuck,

You are certainly a very patient individual. Most folks that had a 742, will tell you, that unless they are kept extremely clean, they will not function. I have only had 7 or 8 of those series rifles 740,742, 7400, and Four, in my hunting family. The Four was a turd out of the box with a bad gas system, and a 740, and 742 literally shot themselves to death, as the bolt is harder than the rails on which it rides...any dirt and grime always adds aditional wear. Mom's 742 Carbine in 308 Winchester, functions OK, provided it is kept clean. It has maybe had 60 rounds thru it, since she acquired it second hand.