In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

8MM Mauser ammo

WhiskeyPeteWhiskeyPete Member Posts: 4 ✭✭
edited April 2003 in Ask the Experts
I was wondering if anybody out there can tell me just how bad it would be for my Mauser if I fire old (corrosive) Turkish ammo in it. My gun is a Yugo type and not a collectibe, but I would like to keep it in pristine condition. I'm concerned about the corrosive nature of the ammo. I have no experience with it and I don't know just how badly or quickly the residue would damage the bore, or if there are any other potential problems to consider. Would appreciate any help.

Comments

• Options
    edited November -1
    Hello everyone,
    I recently aquired a mod 98 8MM German mauser.
    will the 8MM Turkish mauser ammo work properly in this gun ?
    If not,why not,what's the difference and what do you suggest is the best ammo to use in the mod 98 8MM German mauser?
    Thanks...............WhiskeyPete

WhiskeyPete
  • Options
    edited November -1
    Is there any reason I shouldn't try to handload my 8x57 with a light bullet at high velocity, within pressures. I love my 98 but want more reach then the 200 grain bullets can do.
  • Options
    MobuckMobuck Member Posts: 13,793 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Yes the turk 8mm ammo will work in your model 98. Most of the surplus ammo is corrosive which means you need to clean properly to prevent rusting of your bore. Soap and hot water works well and is safe.

Mobuck
  • Options
    GreenLanternGreenLantern Member Posts: 1,647 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    I talked to someone at a gun show and he said that the stuff advertised as non-corrosive, from the 1970s is mildly corrosive. I've never read or heard that it could be slightly corrosive. Can anyone confirm this?
  • Options