In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Purchasing An M1 From The CMP Store

Fairlane66Fairlane66 Member Posts: 336 ✭✭
edited January 2014 in Ask the Experts
I live in Colorado and plan to visit the CMP Store in Anniston, AL, at the end of January, 2014. While there, I want to purchase an M1 Garand instead of ordering one through the mail. I'd rather inspect the available rifles and pick the one I want rather than chance it to luck. I'm a retired vet and qualify to puchase from the CMP. Must I do anything in advance, i.e. fill out and mail in paperwork, to purchase a rifle in person at the CMP Store, or can I just walk in with my retired military ID, complete a background check, pay for the rifle, and walk out with an M1? I know that I generally can't go to another state and buy a firearm as a nonresident. Do the CMP stores follow a different set of rules for face-to-face sales to out-of-state residents? Would appreciate any advice on making this purchase easy and pain-free. Thanks.

Comments

• Options
    ammo guyammo guy Member Posts: 810 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Just show up with the papers/ID you mentioned. They will have you fill out the necessary paper work needed there. You can look over what is on the floor, pay and get the gun on the spot or have it shipped directly to your home( having it shipped avoids paying the AL sales tax that is about 9%). Buying a long gun out of state is not a problem as long as it is legal in both locations. Be sure to check the days and hours of operation there.
  • Options
    mark christianmark christian Forums Admins, Member, Moderator Posts: 24,456 ******
    edited November -1
    All of the information about odering an M1 from the CMP can be found here:

http://www.thecmp.org/Sales/orderinginfo.htm