In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Python s/n question

vipereatervipereater Member Posts: 90
edited February 2003 in Ask the Experts
My 3" Python has a six (all numeral) digit s/n and stamped in two locations. No letter on either end. I've contacted Colt and they deny ever producing a 3" Python and claim all Pythons had 5 numeral digit serial numbers often with a letter on one end. My s/n also does not exist in Colt's database. So what's with my unusual s/n on a barrel length that doesn't exist? It looks like a Python although it does have unique features. I haven't owned it that long and I have no history or background on it.

Comments

• Options
    JudgeColtJudgeColt Member Posts: 1,790 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Please post the serial number, putting the letter "X" in the last two or three places if you feel more comfortable not listing the complete serial number. Please state where the two places are that you find the serial number. Please describe in detail what you believe to be the unique features.

If someone at Colt told you no 3-inch Pythons were ever made, you received bad information. While not common, Pythons were made with 3-inch barrels. So often advice is given here to "call the manufacturer." I think this shows why that can be unreliable at best, and worthless at worst.

Are you sure you are reading the serial number correctly? Sometimes a poorly struck character can be misread.
  • Options
    edited November -1
    s/n is 73xx84. I thought that maybe the 4 could be an A althought it looks like a 4. Colt says that 73xx8a doesn't exist either. With the cylinder out I can see both s/n's. One on the frame and one on the cylinder support. They would touch each other with the cylinder closed.