In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

30-30 win VS a 12 ga. Slug

MossbergboogieMossbergboogie Member Posts: 12,211
edited March 2006 in Ask the Experts
Is a thrity thrity more accurate than a 12 ga. And would it be worth while to buy one if one already owns a slug gun.

Comments

• Options
    Bert H.Bert H. Member Posts: 11,279 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    In a word, Yes, a 30-30 is considerably more accurate than a 12 gauge slug. Slug guns are typically fine for a point-blank to 75 yard shot. A 30-30 is very capable at easily twice that distance, and is more accurate. In my opinion, everyone should own a Winchester Model 94 30-30 lever-action[^]
  • Options
    KX500KX500 Member Posts: 733 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    I'm not going to try to say that I have a lot of experience with a 30-30 but I have found that it isn't all that difficlut to find a shotgun that will group a saboted slug under 2"(or less) at 100 yards. And if you're using one of the lighter slugs, drop at 150 yards isn't too bad either. And if I'm not mistaken that 12 gauge slug is going to have a little more energy at 150 than the 30-30. Maybe most of those 30-30s do half inch groups at 100 yards - I don't know.

If I had the choice, I would probably go with the 30-30 as well but strictly from the cost persepective - those dang 12 gauge sabots are silly expensive.
  • Options
    DEG305DEG305 Member Posts: 469 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    or a 336 Marlin 30-30, Bert [:D]
  • Options
    spanielsellsspanielsells Member Posts: 12,498
    edited November -1
    quote:If I had the choice, I would probably go with the 30-30 as well but strictly from the cost persepective - those dang 12 gauge sabots are silly expensive.