In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Is This Pre-64 Model 70 Original or Altered?

Fairlane66Fairlane66 Member Posts: 336 ✭✭
edited February 2014 in Ask the Experts
I'm a student and fan of Winchester's Pre-64 Model 70, and try to research interesting examples that crop up on line. Here's one that just sold on the auction side: http://www.GunBroker.com/Auction/ViewItem.aspx?Item=395954989
The winning bidder paid a pretty price and the rifle looks pristine. The fact that it comes with the box and all the paperwork is a real plus. However, one aspect of this rifle jumped out at me as odd. This rifle, according to the serial number a 1955 example, appears to have a hard rubber butt plate. According to Roger Rule's book, The Rifleman's Rifle, Winchester 70s switched from the steel to the hard rubber butt plate sometime in 1959, about 4 years after this 243 was assembled. Now, I know Winchester often dipped into different parts bins as they transitioned from one style part to the next, and guns made in the transition period could have one part or the other. However, I don't think there was a 4-year transition period for the butt plates. So, what's your guess? Was this rifle's stock replaced with one wearing a later style hard rubber butt plate or is it possible the stock, made in 1955, is original to the gun? I'm not trying to accuse the seller of impropriety, especially since many folks aren't aware of the Pre-64 Model 70's nuances. However, if it has the rubber butt, the buyer probably paid more for this rifle than it's worth. Personally, I think this rifle had its stock replaced at some point and it should have a steel butt plate to be 100% correct. What do you Model 70 experts think?

Comments

• Options
    swearengineswearengine Member Posts: 1,329 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1