In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

20ga low brass #4 lead shot?

SCOUT5SCOUT5 Member Posts: 16,182 ✭✭✭✭
edited September 2012 in Ask the Experts
I'm going to help start a petite sized lady pheasant hunting this year. I was wanting to buy some low brass #4 lead shells if I can find them #5 lead would work. I can find plenty of #6 lead but would like some heavier shot.

Anyone know where I can find the #4 or #5's in low brass?

Edit: I appreciate all the advice on shot size, I do. I've been hunting wild birds in South Dakota for many years, I've shot hundreds of pheasants in all kind of conditions. I know a low brass #6 out of an improved cylinder choke will take care of most of her shots. However, I also know when conditions warrant, larger shot and tighter chokes are handy.

She is a decent shot on clays with the O/U 20ga and is comfortable shooting the 7/8 oz field loads, but doesn't handle the recoil from heavier loads very well. I want her to enjoy the experience in comfort and not be thinking of the ammo in the chambers. I also want her to be able to kill birds when they are flying a little wild.

A high brass 20 and a field load 12 are basically the same load. If she could handle the field load in a 12ga I already have a couple hundred round of those in #4 shot and she could shoot them.

I may have to start loading my own and load up what I am looking for, but I would rather just buy some if I can find them.

Thanks for the input so far.

Comments

• Options
    MobuckMobuck Member Posts: 13,809 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Try Fiocchi or Rio or Estate.
    Honestly, I would politely suggest you stick with #6 copper plated shot. It performed the best of any shot size I used back when we hunted pheasants hard. My Son killed his share of cock birds using 1 ounce loads of copper 6's.