In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Police Ofc. conceal carry laws

Stylishxone767Stylishxone767 Member Posts: 513 ✭✭✭
edited February 2006 in Ask the Experts
I am curious about police officers being able to carry off duty during interstate travel (no not on airplanes). I heard that Bush passed a federal law allowing for police officers to carry off duty in any state in the union. Are the states honoring this new law? What was the law prior to this? I am a police officer in Michigan, and I am about to take a trip to Chicago. What the position of the state of Illinois on this issue and what are their laws? Does anyone know?

Comments

• Options
    BT99BT99 Member Posts: 1,043
    edited November -1
    Several months Pres. Bush signed HB218 into law. Basically it states that any full time police officer and those retired with at least 15 years service may carry a concealed sidearm anywhere in the U.S., provided they have qualified with the weapon and have been issued a card stating such.
  • Options
    CHGOTHNDERCHGOTHNDER Member Posts: 8,934 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    But not for chicago officers that are retired. Their mayor made up some new rule and screwed them for now.

PJ
  • Options
    nunnnunn Forums Admins, Member, Moderator Posts: 36,013 ******
    edited November -1
    The "previous" law was whatever was on the state and local books of each state and local government. Some states allowed visiting off-duty officers to carry and some didn't.

I carried anyway, wherever I went. My gun was concealed, and I figured that, if I had to pull it, I would just have to worry about whether it was legal to carry it later.