In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Remington 750

CSI21CSI21 Member Posts: 1,206 ✭✭✭✭✭
edited December 2011 in Ask the Experts
Looking at a remington 750 in 308 caliber. Any thoughts pro or con about the gun / caliber

Comments

• Options
    edited November -1
    Does anybody have strong opinions about this rifle?
  • Options
    edited November -1
    What did Remington do when they converted from the previous semiautomatic 7400 to the 750. My gunsmith will not even work on the 7400s, I have had one since I graduated from Boot Camp, never had any problems with it. But everyone calls it Jammatic, so what did Remington change in the gas system or is it just cosmetic. I am a Remington guy, and would like to give it a chance if its a true new design.
    Thanks
  • Options
    tsr1965tsr1965 Member Posts: 8,682 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    That design of both the semi-auto, and the pump was a major dis-service from Remington. Ever since the 740, and up thru the 742, 760, 7400, 7600, Six, and Four models, the bolt head is actually harder than the steel rails machined inside the reciever. Especially when dirty, these will accellerate wear of the rails,and locking lugs, and render the gun usless. Basically, these rifles eat themselves from the inside out.

These type of rifles are found a lot in the North East, and they are usually rode hard, and put away wet. They get drug thru the mud, snow, rain, and the thickest of thickets, and are hardly ever taken apart to be properly cleaned. Most fella's think a swab thru the barrel, and wiping it down with an oily rag is a complete cleaning. They are impossible for the average user to take apart and clean, and almost impractical for an annual cleaning, or even a semi-annual cleaning by a competant gunsmith to clean.