In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Turkey gun

colin1736colin1736 Member Posts: 92 ✭✭
edited December 2011 in Ask the Experts
I am looking to buy a decent shotgun for hunting turkeys. I don't need a high end gun and don't want a door stop, aka Mossberg. I am looking for a good quality firearm. Your advice is appreciated.

Thanks

Colin

Comments

• Options
    edited November -1
    I'm new to turkey hunting, and need advice on a good turkey gun. All suggestions are welcome and appreciated. Thanks.
  • Options
    edited November -1
    What is a good turkey gun? I would want a 12 gauge, 3 1/2 inch chanber, and fully camouflaged. I might put a redot or 1.5-5 power scope in it. The scope would be matching camo.
  • Options
    llamallama Member Posts: 2,637 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    Never had an issue in thousands of rounds thru my Mossberg.

That said, since you aren't in the Mossberg camp, Remington 870.

Edit - if where legal where you are, consider a 22 magnum rifle...
  • Options
    charliemeyer007charliemeyer007 Member Posts: 6,579 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Have you looked at those over and under combo guns? 222/12
  • Options
    tsr1965tsr1965 Member Posts: 8,682 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    Remington 870 Express 3 inch. If it cannot be done with 3 inch, then it can't with 3 1/2 inch either. I shoot the oldest 21" version of the above said 870.

Best
  • Options
    perry shooterperry shooter Member Posts: 17,390
    edited November -1
  • Options
    TWalkerTWalker Member Posts: 2,372 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1