In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Best holster for CC

sockssocks Member Posts: 189 ✭✭✭
edited November 2012 in Ask the Experts
I'm new to CC. I'll be carrying a 2-inch Colt Cobra .38. Aluminum frame. Thinking I'd like to carry it in the small of my back under a shirt/jacket. Can anyone share their experiences about the kind of holster I should look for considering comfort and practicality or
suggest a better carry idea? I'll only carry on rare occasions. Won't be a full-time thing. Thanks!

Comments

• Options
    dcs shootersdcs shooters Member Posts: 10,969
    edited November -1
    I tried a SOB for a couple of days. Found it very uncomfortable sitting. And this was with a auto. A revolver would be worse as it is thicker. For my S&W 640 I use a good belt holster just behind my hip bone. But that's where I wear one when shooting matches. A IWB goes there when carring my Kahr P-9 or P-45. For everyday a Kel-Tec P3AT goes in my right rear pocket in a pocket holster.
    If you are like most shooters, you will try a few different holsters before finding one you like best [;)]
  • Options
    tsr1965tsr1965 Member Posts: 8,682 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    socks,

Other folks might argue, but SOB carry, is taking a risk, especially with light clothes. If your gun prints, folks will have an advantage from behind.

I don't care for in the waist band holsters either, which leaves with a couple types. Ankle, shoulder, or hip/belt. I also shy away from paddle holster's.

This is one of my favorites...yes it is expensive, but it is the best for me.
    http://shop.alessigunholsters.com/Items/cqc-s colt?&caSKU=cqc-s colt&caTitle=Alessi Holsters CQC-S Holster for Colt Guns

Best
  • Options
    rufe-snowrufe-snow Member Posts: 18,650 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1