In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

1911 shoulder stock mainspring housing???

nightboomernightboomer Member Posts: 18 ✭✭
edited June 2014 in Ask the Experts
I was wondering in what type of mainspring are use to mount an shoulder stock on 1911"s the flat or hump type. I know someone with milling mechine also does an know where I could find drafting prints on them

Comments

• nmyersnmyers Member Posts: 16,879 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    It would have to be the flat Main Spring Housing for a solid stock like this one:
    http://www.GunBroker.com/Auction/ViewItem.aspx?Item=420576243
    But, you would have to match the specific stock, so it's not likely there is a "standard" size for the slot. They were never issued by the US military.

I'm no expert on the National Firearms Act, but I think that you need to be careful to avoid making an illegal Short Barreled Rifle. Certain guns (Lugers, Mausers) are specifically permitted, but others......you need to be careful. If you are unable to cite the relevant sections of ATF P5300.4, it would be smart to get written approval from BATFE before starting this project.

Neal

EDIT: A kit, but not complete:
    http://www.GunBroker.com/Auction/ViewItem.aspx?Item=405818300
    I don't think it is currently being manufactured, but you can search the GB auction site.
  • perry shooterperry shooter Member Posts: 17,390
    edited November -1
    They sell the kit with a stock mainspring housing and Barrel.

HOWEVER BE very careful
    The kit is legal if you have ALL THREE pieces installed .