In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Request help identifying pistol

JoePOregonJoePOregon Member Posts: 4
edited February 2019 in Ask the Experts
I am in the process of disposing of my Father?s collection of WW II souvenirs, which includes daggers, swords, pistols and drilling rifle/shotgun combinations.
I have no experience with weapons, so I would appreciate any help you could offer to identify the pistol illustrated in the attached photos. It was included with the obvious WW II Nazi weapons, so I presume it is of European origin.
It is a single-shot pistol, and appears to be about .22 caliber. I presume it is a target pistol.
JZAavv.jpg
LEuwQE.jpg
maxWRO.jpg
8CA9Nb.jpg
srU48x.jpg

Comments

• Options
    Hawk CarseHawk Carse Member Posts: 4,369 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Yes, one of a number of European target pistols, German proof marks.
    Can't read the stamp on the left side of the barrel.

Caliber might be .22 or 6mm Flobert or 4mm Zimmerstutzen.

Nobody took it off the proverbial German officer, it was probably confiscated in the general roundup of privately owned firearms during the Occupation.

Stoeger imported such guns to the USA between the wars.
    This one was $20 in 1939 which I guess was ok if you couldn't afford $23 for a H&R Sportsman revolver, $30 for a H&R USRA single shot, or $38 for a K22.
  • Options
    Aztngundoc22Aztngundoc22 Member Posts: 2,314 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    OK :

Yes : Its a 'pistol' : Had one almost like it a few years back : Never was able to really figure it out ??? it would 'shoot' .22 cal ? but the org. ammo that came with it looked like .22 cal. but was a lil different ???

Good Luck !!!

Thanks !!!
    The more people I meet : The more I like my Dog :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

I Grew Old Too Fast (And Smart Too damn Slow !!!) !!! :o :?