In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Colt 1911A1 NM parts

Nanuq907Nanuq907 Member Posts: 2,552 ✭✭✭✭

Hi gents, I'm new here though I've been hanging around General Discussion for a few months. I've recently caught a bug for a Colt 1911A1 Government National Match 45 ACP. I'm reading everything I can get my hands on, and a couple questions rose up.

I see NM barrels and parts for sale so I could apparently buy my own garden variety Government 1911A1 and put these parts on, to make my very own "NM" pistol. I see on many of these there are serial numbers engraved and stamped.

I have dabbled in vintage Rolex long enough to know there are real parts and there are parts that appear real to all but the most educated eye. I'm guessing that's what I'm seeing here? People engraving "Serial numbers" on garden variety parts and pawning them off as genuine NOS NM parts?

I also notice there are parts for sale everywhere with the magic serial number 7791414. They're for sale on ISBauctions, coolgunsite and eBay. I know I'm dumb as Adam's off ox, but shouldn't there be exactly ONE barrel and bushing with that serial number? And the rest are fakes?

I think I caught the 1911 bug, which quickly progressed to 1911A1 Government, then to 1911 Series 70 Gold Cup National Match, and now it's refined to 1911A1 Government Property NM with matching serial numbers. I recognize this is ridiculous... I'm not buying a safe queen, I intend to use it, and it's stupid to spend $7k to $10k on a perfect example of a super collectible gun, and USE the thing.

I've been counseled to instead spend $500 on a Rock Island Armory 45 ACP and shoot it until I'm better than the gun. Then consider building a Match grade gun for myself. But I'll need to know a lot more about serial numbers, fake parts, and what goes together.