In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Removing Lead from .22 L.R. Barrel

RCrosbyRCrosby Member Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭

Think I sold my Outers Lead Remover too soon.

I've had lots of experience getting lead out of barrels. The Outers was amazing. When I was shooting lots of cast .44 and .357 I had good luck with the Lewis Lead Remover.

Just reclaimed a .22 Woodsman that's been in the family at least since the '50's but that I haven't handled or shot in half a century. It appears that during that time a great quantity of lead shot rounds were fired in it.

I've been soaking the bore with Butches Bore Shine, putting the copper brush to it, then swabbing with

Kleen Bore Lead Away cloth. Slowly getting better but lead is still clearly visible and the lead cloth comes out black.

Short of mercury, which I hesitate to play with, does anyone have any suggestions or do I just keep plugging away till it's clean?

thanks,

Rob C.

Comments

• Options
    Rocky RaabRocky Raab Member Posts: 14,216 ✭✭✭✭

I have an Outers I'll never use again. You want it?

I may be a bit crazy - but I didn't drive myself.
  • Options
    navc130navc130 Member Posts: 1,206 ✭✭✭
    edited March 2021

BIG45METALCLEANER.COM. Guaranteed to not harm the bore. I have used it a lot on exterior surfaces. You might try fine steel wool or a copper skillet cleaner first. Plugging the bore and filling it with solvent for a day or two may help.

• Options
    hillbillehillbille Member Posts: 14,190 ✭✭✭✭

not sure how you are soaking it, I used to plug barrell and stand it on end then fill with lead solvent and leave it overnight... some guns/rifles are easier to do this way than others

• Options
    Ricci.WrightRicci.Wright Member Posts: 5,129 ✭✭✭✭