In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Novice Question re: Auctions

Lantern LegalLantern Legal Member Posts: 4

I'm new to this platform. I noticed in some auctions I've been following that the same person will come in and bid consecutively within minutes. You will see like say three bids one right after the other.

Can someone explain to me why this happens? From my inexperienced position it seems like this would be to make the auction more attractive by increasing the number of bids. But maybe there is a more simple non-dubious reason for this. I just can't figure that out.

Much appreciated.

Comments

• Options
    mark christianmark christian Forums Admins, Member, Moderator Posts: 24,456 ******
    edited March 2021

The bidder may bid (say) $505.06 and receive the "Congratulations, you are now winning" announcement, but still isn't convinced that he'll win the auction with that amount. In that case he'll come back and raise his bid accordingly. Remember, not everyone monitors the auctions minute by minute. Some will place a Proxie bid and wait to see what happens.

• Options
    Ruger4meRuger4me Member, Moderator Posts: 3,359 ******
    edited March 2021

also if they don't bid enough to be the high bidder (someone previously set a higher max bid, "proxy bid" as Mark mentioned) and they try several times but still are not high bidder it will show that bidder each time they tried.... happens to me a lot lately trying to get ammo. Welcome to the forums.

• Options

In the example I've seen, the bidder places a bid, then within a minute or two places another, then another.

If you have a moment, take a look at the bid history here: https://www.gunbroker.com/Item/895107120/BidHistory