In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Butcher/ meat cutting

Just wanted to open a dialog about meat cutting, with fall around the corner, hunting season and livestock harvesting season approaching, it never hurts to bounce ideas around or or throw out questions.

I am a butcher by trade and happy to chat and connect with anyone who has interest in or about woods to table farm to fridge and blade to bone.

Comments

• Options
    MobuckMobuck Member Posts: 13,791 ✭✭✭✭

It's a good part time business if you have the tools, coolers, and experience. As a full time business, it involves a lot of overhead.

I've processed a lot of deer before my hands and shoulders gave out. If we had a walk-in cooler to hold carcasses until we had time, we'd cut all our own deer but that's a big expense for a single family cutting 1/2 dozen deer.

• Options
    JimmyJackJimmyJack Member Posts: 5,398 ✭✭✭✭

I enjoy it and do all my own. Have the equipment needed for the job including a butcher block table., and smokehouse.

• Options
    allen griggsallen griggs Member Posts: 35,241 ✭✭✭✭

I have killed a lot of whitetail deer, more than 90, and lots of wild hogs. I processed most of them. I have an electric grinder and have made hundreds of pounds of venison sausage and burger. I really enjoyed cutting up those animals.

By the way, I spend a summer up in the wilderness of British Columbia, hanging around with professional big game guides. When they kill a 900 pound moose, they quarter it with a chain saw.

• Options
    lkanneslkannes Member Posts: 2,265 ✭✭✭